Build Log: Salida Este Dock

Salida Este is a vibrant town full of color, and today the citizens are welcoming Captain Argentum. Keep an eye out for unique uses of the LEGO minifigure torso throughout this build!

Below is a time lapse video; my first attempt at one of these. I’ll get better at it…

This creation started, like most of my larger creations, with a pair of road plates. I raised the back by a layer to provide the base for the town street.

After a bit of work, I finished the docks and the street, using a floating cobblestone technique for the street.

Next up, the houses; a lot of experimentation went into the color choices for each one.

I spent a lot of time on the alleyway between the yellow and medium dark flesh house; unfortunately, it’s not easy to see in the final pictures!

I really wanted to use minifigure torsos for the arch on the dark green house. Unfortunately, that made the door really big, and I feel like in the long run it felt out of place on the rest of the street. But it was a neat technique that I may actually reuse someday!

Have you spotted all the torso uses yet? On the pier, on the stone wall, on the flags, the black and white house, the chimney of the blue house, the roof of the dark green house, and the arch on the dark green house.

This was my photo set up. Nothing like a wall and a bit of tape to keep things simple!

Later I also added a few torsos for the curtains on the open archway in the tan house.

cYcCFQwWfpGNMo9xYZMfy1uEpW0jbU-metac21hbGwgKDEpLkpQRw%3D%3D-___media_library_original_1108_746.jpg

I liked this tudor house so much that later I took it off and made it into it’s own MOC!

G1AeR21R2IcKJjlVLDP9HVC3ub3it2-metac21hbGwgKDIpLkpQRw%3D%3D-___media_library_original_1105_1127.jpg

One fun technique is the orange and red on this roof. I really love how perfectly it replicates a Spanish roof look.

The%20Conquering%20Hero%20Returns%20in%20Triumph%20%281%29.jpg

Here you can just barely spot my final use of the minifigure torso; flower pots on top of the flat-roofed medium dark flesh house.

The%20Conquering%20Hero%20Returns%20in%20Triumph%20%282%29.jpg

Merging these next two roofs was tricky!

qGl0ofFbf0U5YyMVEHsPLnAvv39AXC-metac21hbGwgKDQpLkpQRw%3D%3D-___media_library_original_1100_1478.jpg

Once last shot of the entire scene. Hope you enjoyed your walk through Salida Este!

vps0Bg3AGSremCugEvYjya1NGSTOyy-metac21hbGwgKDMpLkpQRw%3D%3D-___media_library_original_1295_983.jpg

You might also enjoy these similar posts:

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑