Chef Délicieux’s Kitchen Build Log

Hello all, this is Guy Mock,* back again, here to detail the building process for good old Chef Délicieux’s grand medieval kitchen!
*MOC, often pronounced mock, stands for My Own Creation

Start at the bottom – that’s my motto!  So the first thing was the layout.  Geneva decided on two pillars and an oven in the middle.  Meanwhile I rummaged through the minifigure containers and started putting together a few tidbits like a chest of drawers, torches for the walls, knife holders, and so on.

This picture was taken early in the morning, although most of what’s visible here was done the day before.  You might notice the light changing throughout the day on the following pictures!

Next came the floor, with loads of slopes.  Then Geneva got started on the oven.  The decision for a tan floor and wall was taken early on and then it just made sense to do the oven in dark tan after that!

A few hours later, the oven had made good progress and the walls were beginning.  I told Geneva that if she could just inset those medium flesh profile bricks that would be a huge improvement, but she gave me the unanswerable argument: I don’t have enough tiles and jumpers.

I am definitely going to take credit for those uni-kitty tails.  If I hadn’t pulled them out of the accessory box earlier Geneva would never have even thought of them!

It wasn’t too long before Geneva finished the walls and started putting on a bit of a roof.  She was careful to make sure there were plenty of attachment points for things to hang down.  You really can’t have a medieval kitchen without something hanging down from the roof, can you?

Pretty soon, it was just a matter of adding details – and chefs.  I count 6, plus a boy, plus a waiter, plus a lazy dude eating an apple.  If that’s not going to spoil the broth, I don’t know what will!

Carrying the creation downstairs and outside was tricky, but since it’s an all-LEGO scene, at least we didn’t have to take any paper background out!

And there you have it folks!  Chef Délicieux’s kitchen, all ready to go!

If you enjoyed seeing this build progress, you might also want to check out my other build log:

4 thoughts on “Chef Délicieux’s Kitchen Build Log

  1. Josh Saadati June 5, 2017 / 4:51 pm

    (This is from Josh.) That kitchen’s incredibly detailed! However, although this post offers tons of helpful information, I can’t help but wonder what I am to do if I don’t have the right colored pieces. Any suggestions?

    Like

    • Geneva D June 6, 2017 / 11:00 am

      Hi Josh!
      The best thing to do when you don’t have the right colors is… be creative! 😀 I know, that’s not very helpful. 😉 But actually there are lots of alternatives. For instance the walls here could easily have been grey, or brown, or white. Plus, I made this awfully tall, because I had lots of tan bricks, but it didn’t need to be so high. Don’t be afraid to start small!
      I actually myself ran out of pieces for the oven, so I used slope bricks up top, as you might be able to tell if you look closely. That’s the great thing about LEGO – there are hardly any useless pieces! If it doesn’t work in one direction, try it in another! (I ran out of pieces for the pillars too, by the way. But fortunately I was able to borrow some from my brother Isaiah. 😉 )

      Like

  2. Hildigrim Took June 5, 2017 / 8:53 pm

    Yay! 😀 This is super cool, I love build logs! It’s a lot smaller than I thought, but that’s OK! It means you did a great job at taking the photos. 🙂

    Like

    • Geneva D June 6, 2017 / 11:03 am

      It’s so tricky to build an all-LEGO scene without having annoying corners and such that never make it into the final photos! I was actually surprised at how well this one worked. I think it was because it’s just one back wall, so I was able to get almost the whole thing in the main picture. And indeed, it’s not very big. Especially once I stuck all the minifigures inside, it was super crowded! … and a little hard to make sure that everyone was standing up at once… 😉
      Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

