Sailing Through Mapland

Inspired by a printed LEGO 2×2 map tile, I decided to take treasure hunting to a whole new level with a 3D LEGO map!  Sail ho, me hearties!

For reference, here’s a close-up of the LEGO tile, courtesy of BrickLink:

Although this is a creation I built over a year ago, it’s still one of my favorites.  I had a great time in the build process, and besides, treasure maps are always such fun!

True to the original tile, I plunked an anchor down right here… presumably it means that there’s good harbor on this side of the island!

X marks the spot!

I decided that I wanted to keep at least part of this MOC on my desk, but the whole thing was using up far too many pieces!  So I downsized to just one island… and, in fact, I can hardly say which one I like better!

This micro-ship design has become a classic for me.  I developed it probably over three years ago, and it has figured in dozens of MOCs of mine since!

Someday I hope to revisit this concept with large renditions of other LEGO map tiles – but until then, you might be interested in the following posts:

4 thoughts on “Sailing Through Mapland

  1. Hildigrim Took May 4, 2017 / 1:21 pm

    This is awesome! Reminds me of a Mocathlon category from a couple years back 😉

    Like

    • Geneva D May 5, 2017 / 9:19 am

      😀 I wonder why? Funny thing actually, my brother and I flipped a coin for that category and I lost… but he ran out of time so I got it in the long run anyhow!

      Like

  2. Sir Stig May 18, 2017 / 3:51 pm

    I love this build. What about adding a closeup of the map tile to show how accurate it is? Impressive. The threads adds so much.

    Like

    • Geneva D May 18, 2017 / 7:54 pm

      Thanks Sir Stig! 🙂 Good idea about adding a reference picture. You can see one here, but I’ll add it to the post as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

