Danger in the Mine

Even today, mining isn’t without its perils… and back in the good ol’ days, when prospectors used picks and shovels, alarms were frequent!

Check out the whole MOC (My Own Creation) below!

With this high view you can get a look at what sort of disaster menaced the miners this time around… water!

Quite a serious problem especially before the days of steam or electric pumps!

No use leaving a nugget behind though, if it comes quickly to hand! 😉

Fortunately, it looks like all five miners escaped.

This is one of those creations where the limitations for camera angles really make much of the build invisible or just shadow background… but I still enjoyed trying out some new things with the sand “rock.”  For one thing, I introduced several layers of dark flesh colored bricks, and I also tried to see how many odd silver pieces I could use (a couple of wolverine claws, a fish, horn, and visor, to name a few).  Then too, the cracks in the side were a new experiment, and definitely one that I think adds a lot to the whole build!

Speaking of cracks, I’ll leave you with a parting shot!  Enjoy! 😀

You might also be interested in:

6 thoughts on “Danger in the Mine

  1. Hildigrim Took April 27, 2017 / 1:24 pm

    It’s awesome how we both built for the same category, we’re both building floods too, and yet our builds look very different! Great work here, I like it a lot 🙂 The mine cart is nice, I had a fun time trying to build one for my MOC!

    Like

    • Geneva D April 27, 2017 / 7:41 pm

      Thanks! I tried to find yours but couldn’t, so I assume you haven’t uploaded yet? Looking forward to seeing it! Hope you got some more good out of the water aspect than I did… I felt like it was almost an afterthought here, especially from some angles. But that was more or less inevitable considering the long-and-narrow layout.
      That mine cart was kinda tricky – I took some inspiration from a cart one of my brothers had built, but couldn’t figure out quite how he did it and he wasn’t within easy calling distance at the time, so my version ended up pretty different! 😉

      Like

      • Geneva D May 1, 2017 / 11:59 am

        I see you’ve uploaded now though… and yes, the concept is about the only similarity! I like how you did the water… for a minute I had a fleeting thought of trying to pour those round pieces through the open top and take a picture in motion, but then, that sounded like it might not work to well. 😉

        Like

  2. Lashunda August 13, 2017 / 4:07 pm

    Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and
    Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style
    seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Like

    • Geneva D August 16, 2017 / 8:09 pm

      Hi,
      I’m using WordPress – you may be able to spot its logo in the footer. 😉 My design is a slightly tweaked form of one of WordPress’s themes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

