St. Louis Skyline

Welcome to the Gateway to the West! 


(Click for higher resolution images.)  For the background I used STL Skyline 2007 by CillanXC at English Wikipedia, licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Although I’ve never actually lived in St. Louis or its environs, I’ve visited the area frequently and been up in the arch more than once.  So it was an obvious choice once I had decided to build a skyline!

But… I rather began to regret it when it came time to actually building the arch.  I started there, knowing that it would be the most important building and set the tone for the rest of the build, and boy, getting a curved arch that still kept the original triangular shape was no piece of pie (though, as a side note, pie really isn’t so easy to make, as those of you who have tried it know…).  After three or four utter failures, I finally achieved the shape I wanted for the Gateway Arch.

After that, the Thomas F. Eagleton United States Courthouse seemed a breeze!  Getting the top to look just right was a mite tricky, I’ll admit, but the end result actually sticks together fairly well, believe it or not!

Eads Bridge went through several variations and kept getting shorter as the Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis pushed it farther and farther away.  Speaking of the Cathedral, that was probably the most enjoyable part of this build – it came together so perfectly!  Out in front on the water you can see the now-defunct McDonald’s Riverboat.  So the skyline is a bit dated – but in keeping with the riverboat, the steeple of the Cathedral is colored as it was prior to the latest refurbishing.

At the end of the row we have the Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis.  This was tricky thanks to the crazy tilting thing going up the middle, but I did the best I could.  The hotel is actually part of a larger complex, but that would have taken up much more space than I had available for it so I just drew an imaginary line and built what I could – including part of the parking garage!

Whenever possible, I enjoy trying to make all angles of a build presentable, and I was able to do that with this skyline fairly easily!

There was a neat sunset yesterday that I decided to take advantage of for one last shot!

This skyline was built for the Marchitecture contest, and I encourage you to check out the other entries – there have been some great ones so far!  Or share your thoughts on my entry – have you ever been up the arch?  Do you recognize the other buildings?  Comments and questions are welcome!

You might also be interested in these similar posts:

2 thoughts on “St. Louis Skyline

Leave a Reply

