My Own Pet Flim

I got up one day
I got up, I say.
I stood on my head,
Looked under the bed.
I saw a dust bunny,
And a piece of money,
I saw a crooked pin,
And –oh! – a yellow fin!

I got to my feet,
Looking very sweet.
“Come on, little one,
Come out, let’s have fun!”
He wriggled.
He sniggered.
He sniffled.
He giggled.

With a great big shout,
Out came a yellow snout.
Next a green eye
With a powerful sigh.
Soon the biggest horn ever
Poked out of the cover
Another and another –
Oh, no! Here came mother!

“Be good, little one,
“I’ll be back when I’m done!”
I ran out and left him
He looked very grim.
What should I call him?
I decided on Flim.
My very own pet!
Now, we are set!

In just a half hour
I got back from my shower
The water had been like ice
But my hair smelled nice!
I dashed along, running
I cried, “Flim, I’m coming!”
I thought I heard him humming
I opened the door, grumbling.

“What have you done?
“Come here, I say, come!
“Look there, and there!
“My! What a bear!”
I picked up my teddy,
He was torn to confetti.
I ran to see froggy,
He looked dead as Aunt Moggy!

My toys were spread
All over my bed,
Here were my toy guns
There my little Huns.
A bump in my bed,
My helicopter on its head –
There were darts everywhere –
It just wasn’t fair!

“Go away,” I yelled, “Go away, Flim!
“Go see brother Tim! Or try Uncle Jim!
“I don’t want you here.
“You’ve ruined my bear,
“You messed up my sheets,
“You ate all my sweets,
“Go away, Flim!”
No more of him!

He giggled.
He sniffled.
He sniggered.
He wriggled.
A tear came from his eye
With a powerful sigh.
But at last he crawled back
Like a big lemon sack.

I learned a lesson that day,
A lesson, I say.
When you stand on your head,
And look under your bed,
If you see a fin
Behind a crooked pin,
Don’t call to him!
You don’t want a Flim!

4 thoughts on “My Own Pet Flim

  1. Hildigrim Took March 28, 2017 / 7:21 pm

    Haha, nice! You did a great job incorporating all the builds to be just right. 🙂

    Like

  2. Sandra Hendricks March 29, 2017 / 3:04 pm

    That was fun Geneva! I like the way you rhymed it … and lo and behold … pictures … of the pesky monster … as you said (in your head), “Lego my bear” ! ha ha (Mrs. H.)

    Like

    • Geneva D March 29, 2017 / 5:48 pm

      Thank you! 🙂 I’m not much of a poet but I enjoy doing these quick rhymes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

