Zap

Roarrrrrrr!  Better not get on this beast’s bad side, because he has some claws!  Zap, my second attempt at a dragon, features extensive poseability, a wingspan well over 1′, and a rider’s seat decked out with a personalized flag!

This dragon is lots of fun to play around with, I can tell you!  The ball joints offer tremendous posing options.  I took the basic structure from Nuju Metru and his amazing Dragon Building Guides, but went ahead and gave it my own spin – in this case, the center torso was built upside down.  That made the transition to the rider’s seat complicated, but by a clip connection I was able to pull it off.

A big part of dragon building is hitting the right colorscheme – I chose to go with a variety of blues, with the normal shade of blue on the bottom, melting into a dark blue higher up, topped by a range of azure spikes.

You can see in this next picture that Zap has something of a cat-like shape, which I actually really like.  It makes the dragon easy to hold and adds to the active, ready-to-attack feel.

The wings were the last thing built – or rather, cut out; and all those notches were something of a pain!  I added the azure dots because I felt they were too plain and needed something to bring the colorscheme back into play, though quite how effective those were I’m not prepared to state.

And there you have it!  This dragon is one of two that I recently built – expect to see the other one in a few days!

Meanwhile, you might be interested in checking out these other posts:

2 thoughts on “Zap

  1. Hildigrim Took March 13, 2017 / 4:31 pm

    Nice job! 🙂 And a great run in the Tourney, congrats to that! Keep up the good work 😀 What did you make the wings out of?

    Like

    • Geneva D March 14, 2017 / 10:36 am

      Thank you! Kinda wish I had made it to the final round although it’s nice to have a break (and TBH I like the fourth place prize better than second 😛 ). The wings are just blue colored paper – only colored on one side in fact, which is maybe a little limiting but not too bad. I cut out all the jagged edges by hand though, which was a little time consuming… 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

