Ice Castle

Far in some wonderland of frigid cold, the inhabitants make use of nature’s materials in the fashioning of their castles.  Blue-tinted ice, white snow, and golden crenelations glitter across the landscape.  What adventures await the knight errant of this clime?

It took me about a month and a half to build this Ice Castle.  I enlisted the help of one of my younger sisters and we had fun building together.  We started off, naturally enough, with the irregular base of snow, topped by a slight rocky wall and with another layer of snow after that.  It had been quite some time since I had built a snowscape, and techniques had come along since then so I made sure to take advantage of the potential with white horns!

Photographing this castle was a less than thrilling experience as the weather was rather on the windy side and trying to make sure that the snowflakes on top were visible while the background was still light enough was quite a challenge and not one in which I was entirely successful.

But I was very glad to see how well the blue-backed ice walls worked!  If I ever build an ice castle again that is definitely something I will want to keep.

I stumbled on the arch design fairly early on and knew that was a must.  I had planned on making the castle a bit more open, with a playable interior, but with the blue behind the walls, that would have been impractical.  In the end, the triangular design did away with the need for an interior.

2 thoughts on “Ice Castle

  1. Hildigrim Took February 11, 2017 / 2:50 pm

    Great job! I love the irregular base with the Snot rocks! Keep up the good work 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

